Comparison Chart: My review of home delivered healthy fitness meals (Youfoodz, 5.4, Lean Meals, etc)

 

Over the past few years, I’ve been trying different home delivered meal providers – since I often don’t have enough time to prepare food, let alone cook it. In doing so, I thought I should review them as I go along.

 

Before we begin…

Just a heads-up that I’m coming at this from purely a fitness angle. I weigh around 90kg (at the time of writing) and my goal is to put on muscle mass & to bulk up (to around 95kg), so my daily calorie intake is around 3,500 – made up of around 250 grams of protein, nearly 400g of carbs and 110g of fats; mostly the “good” kind.

I train 5 or 6 times a week and I also cycle (to work) for an hour a day. I live in Brisbane, so keep in mind that not all companies listed here may be able to deliver to you. Also, note that some companies may have changed their delivery methods, meal quality and other options since I’ve tried them; but what’s written below is correct as at the time of reviewing.

One last thing: Many of these companies sell meal packs of different sizes. In general, I always review the largest size available, as I eat a lot & am generally bulking when I get pre-made meals. Now that we have that out of the way, let’s begin!

 

Comparison of Home Delivered Meal Reviews

Company & review link Reviewed (period) Meal type Score Avg. $/meal I didn’t like… Website
My review of 5.4 (Five Point Four) 07/2015 (6 weeks) Frozen 6/10 $10 (large) Quality, variety, macros are off Visit site
My review of Caveman Kitchen Coming in a few weeks! Fresh 8/10 $14.25 (large) Quality (some meals), value (cost vs. meal size) Visit site
My review of Fresh Meals 2U 05/2017 (3 weeks) Fresh 8/10 $13.50 (medium) Value (cost vs. meal size) Visit site
My review of Gym Food Australia 04/2017 (1 week) Frozen 9/10 $11 (large) Flavour (some meals) Visit site
My review of Healthy Meals To Your Door 05/2017 (1 week) Fresh & Frozen 8.5/10 $10 (medium) Value (cost vs. meal size) Visit site
My review of Lean Meals 01/2016 (2 weeks) Fresh 8/10 $12 (large) Value (cost vs. meal size) Visit site
My review of Muscle Meals Direct 12/2015 (4 weeks) Frozen 4/10 $12 (large) Quality, taste, variety Visit site
My review of MyMuscleChef 09/2015 (8 weeks) Frozen 7/10 $9.50 (large) Some flavours repetitive Visit site
My review of Workout Meals 01/2016 Frozen n/a They never delivered any food! Visit site
My review of YouFoodz 11/2015 (3 weeks) Fresh 8/10 $10 (medium) Value (cost vs. meal size) Visit site
My review of Zest Meals Coming in a few weeks! $10 Visit site
(INACTIVE) Company & review link Reviewed (period) Meal type Score  Avg. $/meal I didn’t like… Website
My review of Just Add Muscle 06/2015 (4 weeks) Frozen 9/10 $13 (large) Value (cost vs. meal size) n/a
My review of Macro Meals 02/2016 (2 weeks) Frozen 8/10 $14 (medium) Value (cost vs. meal size), variety n/a

 

And the winner is…

Since we’re not really comparing apples with apples (as it were), I can’t pick just one winner. However, I’ve decided to categorise them, so that you can pick one based on your requirements & goals. So, without further delay, here they are:

 

What’s your experience been like?

Please leave a comment below and let me know what your experience has been like, or if you’d like me to review another provider that delivers to my area. I’d also appreciate a comment if you found this review helpful. Thank you.

19 Comments

  1. November 22, 2015  10:08 am by Angelo Reply

    Thanks mate for the review. I've been looking for a Brisbane meal delivery service and found your review real helpful and saved me time and hassle. For the record, my mates in Sydney use workout meals and they are pretty happy with them.

    • November 29, 2015  10:50 am by TPH Fitness Reply

      Thanks for letting me know! I look forward to reviewing them when they deliver to Brisbane :)

  2. November 30, 2015  12:12 pm by Lisette Reply

    Thanks for this, really helpful list of services! We were ordering YouFoodz but made it a condition that it had to come in under $10 per meal including delivery. As soon as we had to pay for shipping (to Melbs) it pushed it too far out of our price range. Trying 5.4 this week and looking forward to it!

  3. February 2, 2016  8:33 pm by Friedricecooker Reply

    Loved reading your objective reviews of each different provider; really informative with the right balance of detail. And well written too!

    • July 10, 2016  1:33 pm by TPH Fitness Reply

      Anytime - glad I could help! :)

  4. April 30, 2016  4:03 pm by Angela Reply

    Thank you so much for this review you have got me out of a dilemma I wish I had read your reviews before. Much appreciated

    • July 10, 2016  1:33 pm by TPH Fitness Reply

      No worries - glad I could help!

  5. July 6, 2016  8:10 pm by L Robbie Reply

    Thanks for such a thorough review.
    Should save me much heart ache.
    I decided against 5.4 based on reviews, and ordered musclemealsdirect due this Friday.
    Bit nervous now after your review but will try it and swap to mymusclechef if it doesn't work!
    Thanks!!!

    • July 10, 2016  1:33 pm by TPH Fitness Reply

      No problems - what did you think of them? :-)

  6. July 11, 2016  11:51 am by Alex Reply

    Awesome this is just what I was looking for a review of these !

    I have just ordered mymusclechef I will let you know how I go.

    have you tried dineamic?

  7. September 29, 2016  4:03 pm by Victoria Reply

    Wow I feel like you were really kind to 5.4 lol. I tried it for 2 weeks and it was the most revolting food I've tried! And I agree, the meals state that they have 40g protein and yet I actually weighed the beef in one of my meals and there was literally 40g beef in it! Thanks so much for this excellent review though. I think I'll give lean meals a go.

    • September 29, 2016  6:29 pm by TPH Fitness Reply

      It's been over a year since I tested 5.4... but judging by your comment, they've gotten even worse, it seems! Thanks for the info :)

  8. October 28, 2016  2:00 pm by Darren Reply

    Anyone know what happened to macro meals.com.au?

    I tried youfoodz from the review. Thank btw.... Very good but small serves.
    Next up MUSCLE CHEF (tomorrow), then WORKOUT MEALS next week

    Thanks for the info guys

    • October 28, 2016  3:48 pm by TPH Fitness Reply

      No problems, Darren! Seems as though Macro Meals is gone too - another one bites the dust! :-(

  9. February 1, 2017  5:23 pm by Gary Reply

    I'm surprised at some peoples comments re 5.4. I've got really good results from their training meals and am happy with the quality. I'm pretty picky about my meat quality and have never had an issue.

  10. February 2, 2017  2:46 pm by Matt Reply

    You should of rated 5point4 a
    5.4/10

  11. March 29, 2017  5:26 pm by Peter Slattery Reply

    Nice reviews. Very comprehensive.

    Personally, I found youfoodz to be ok, but not great. Probably a 6. Meals were too small for me and not very tasty. Haven't tried any of the others. I actually didn't even know about lean meals and workout meals, both of which look great. Will have to add them to my list.

    On a related note you might be interested to know that we just beta launched a service that shows all the meal delivery services, that we know of, that deliver to a postcode. We also show additional relevant information. Its at comparemeals.com.au.

  12. April 22, 2017  7:06 am by Lara Reply

    This is a fantastic review! Thanks!
    I'd be really interested in knowing if there is anyone that does a ketogenic version of a meal delivery service. (Low sugar, low carb, high good fats).
    Do you know if anyone?

  13. September 3, 2017  8:40 pm by Victorine Reply

    This is a great review on lean meals. Very helpful :) I don't know if you are interested in finding other meal delivery services but there is this website with over 160 services listed: https://comparemeals.com.au/. There's even a summary page for lean meals at (See: https://comparemeals.com.au/supplier/lean-meals. You can filter by postcode, meal options, which ones are cheapest and so on. It is quite useful as well.

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published.

My review of YouFoodz

Brisbane Meal Delivery Service: Youfoodz review   In brief Website: youfoodz.com Delivery: To your door in a freezer-box with ice packs Average price for my deliv[...]

My review of MyMuscleChef

Brisbane Meal Delivery Service: MyMuscleChef review   In brief Website: mymusclechef.com Delivery: To your door in a freezer-box with ice packs Average price for [...]